It the last day of Blogmas 2017 – Christmas Eve

Today is our final blogmas and is also the day of Joe and I’s first Christmas dinner of 2017. We are spending the actual day of Christmas with my family at Mum’s so for Christmas Eve, Ann has had all of her family round for dinner. It was lovely! The food was delish but poor Isla, our niece, has the cold so was a bit unhappy for most of the day. We’re away to go out with Joe’s mates but before we go I thought I would pop this up. SO, here’s our top 5 favourite things about Christmas!

My sisters in law and their babies
  1. Pigs in blankets – these are the best things ever! As a couple, Joe and I love them and eat them quite regularly (they’re available all year round in the party frozen food sections in supermarkets) in hot rolls. Wee pork sausages wrapped tightly in crispy bacon is the best idea anyone has ever had.
  2. Sticky toffee pudding – yep, food again but it’s just so good! As a couple this is our favourite dessert and we only ever have it at special times. Christmas pudding is delicious! I’m so glad there’s left overs and we’ll be devouring those this evening.
  3. Getting to see everyone – last year we were delighted to see everyone at Christmas as we’d come back up from Fife and this year I was just as excited. I was so happy to be up and it’s been ace seeing everyone, especially altogether. Thankfully there’s another few weeks until I’m shipped back to Glasgow so there’s plenty time to see people yet.
  4. Christmas movies – although we have completely different tastes in films, Joe and I love watching Christmas films. While I suffer through The Muppet’s Christmas Carol, Joe can sing along. But then the Grinch I love but he doesn’t quite enjoy. It is nice having time to chill out and watch movies though!
  5. Decoraitons – there’s only one time of year that people should tolerate tat in their houses and that’s Christmas! Sparkley tinsel, dangling stockings and glittery baubles surrounded by twinkling lights are extremely festive and exciting. The decorating was all done by the time I got home and it’s been nice seeing it all up. There’s 3 bouncy decorations which hang over our breakfast bar at Mums that we love seeing every year as they spring around.
Wee Isla in one of her happier moments – she’s such a cutie!

With that, we wish you a very merry Christmas and happy festive adventures!

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑